The Hair Growth Cycle


Hair grows from the follicle or roots underneath the skin. The hair is ‘fed’ by blood vessels at the base of the follicle, which gives the nourishment it needs to grow. Between starting to grow and falling out years later, each hair passes through 4 stages: anagen, catagen, telogen and exogen. Every hair is at a different stage of the growth cycle.

Over time, the length of the anagen stage decreases. Therefore, the hair may become weaker and thinner after each cycle.
That is why it is important to ensure your diet is rich in specific nutrients to promote existing hair growth from within.

Play Video


1. Anagen (Growling Phase)

The growing phrase lasts 2 to 7 years and determines the length of our hair.

2. Catagen (Transition Phase)

This is the transitional stage that lasts about 10 days. The hair follicle shrinks and detaches from the dermal papilla.

3. Telogen (Resting Phase)

This is the resting phrase which lasts around three months. Around 10 to 15% of hairs are in this phase. Whilst the old hair is resting, a new hair begins the growth pages.

4. Exogen (New Hair Phase)

This is part of the resting phase where the old hair sheds and a new hair continues to grow. Approximately 50 to 150 hairs can fall out daily, this is considered to be normal hair shedding.